Good Sleep

I don’t know if other people have the same experience as this but when I stay at my parents’ house for the night I get the best sleep ever. My parents purchased the house in 1985 and they’ve stayed there ever since. I was 16 years old and it was (and still is) the best house I ever lived in.

They’re less than 100 miles from where I live now but ever since they renovated the house’s landscape (adding grass, pavers, fruit trees) I’ve been going over at a minimum of once a month, sometimes every couple of weeks. My parents are in their 70s and my dad, although still quite active (thank God), could use a hand with the yard. (The yard work is definitely worth another post.)

So I don’t think it’s the resulting dehydration and tiredness of doing the yard that helps me sleep well. I think staying over takes me back to when I was a kid. Takes me back to a time of little to no real responsibilities. Stress free living. My biggest need was the need to finish high school. Biggest desire was my girlfriend at the time (thankfully I didn’t end up with her). Dreams included becoming a pilot (what can I say, it was the age of Top Gun) or working with computers (at the time I had a state of the art Apple IIGS with a whopping 512K of RAM). I was dabbling in writing back then too. Also thought about becoming a soldier or going into law enforcement.

Some people say being an adult sucks and I pretty much agree. The responsibilities can become overwhelming at times. At my age I’m preparing for retirement and realizing I should’ve taken it a little more seriously about 10 or 15 years ago. I also realize how fast time is going by and how it seems to go by faster and faster the older I get.

But all those thoughts go away when I’m home, when I’m standing in the kitchen talking with Mom and Dad while they cook something up. I’m a kid again when I’m sitting in the living room watching a movie with them. And when I’m lying down in my old room, everything is right in the world…even if it’s just for a weekend.

 

3 thoughts on “Good Sleep

  1. Totally agree with you!
    Also, time does fly, as we get older. A shame!
    Please don’t ever stop writing. I read your other blogs and the one saying sometimes there’s a whole year in which you don’t write. (which you just realize) I really enjoy your writings! They are honest, with good humor, some sarcasm, and fun to read. BTW: I also love Stephen King, and let me tell you: He sure knows! *wink* You do have to read a lot!!!
    Glad to meet you!
    Have a great rest of the week and weekend!
    Winnie (writing dot com)

  2. My god this sounds exactly how I feel when I stay at my parents place! They’re only 15 mins away as I’ve moved closer to home. It’s the house I’ve been in since I was 12 and they’ve just recently renovated it. Huge garden too as they’re on 40 acres. There’s something just so comforting about going home, watching a movie like old times with mum & dad (with a pause halfway through to make tea & get chocolate) and always the BEST night sleep. I’ve just been there actually ! I somehow managed to get my parents into GoT, so we watched an episode lol!!

Leave a Reply

