Second draft under way

Thought I’d share with future readers my progress in getting my first novel published, either on paper or digitally (Kindle, etc.). This is actually the second novel I’ve ever written. My first, written in 1999, never saw the light of day. It never even saw a second draft. I knew it stunk upon completion but it was a fantastic exercise in learning about the writing process and what it takes to write a novel-length manuscript.

Fast forward 10 years. The writing bug bit again and I went at it hard, writing a science-fiction novel over the course of a few months last year. I began the project in June and finished in October. It was a lot of fun and a little easier to write than my first novel. I also learned a lot about writing technique by participating in writing contests over at writing.com. Made some friends there too. I highly recommend it for those of you who dream of being a writer.

Fast forward again 1 year and here we are. This novel was calling out for me to get it read by people. But there’s no way I could let people read it in its current form. Right now it’s like a wild animal and it needs to be tamed. In fact, as I neared the end of the story, perhaps the last 30 pages or so, I started getting other ideas about how the story should have gone so I wrote scenes as if those things had happened earlier in the novel when, in fact, I hadn’t written it that way. I figured I’d add what I needed to during the first re-write (second draft process).

I’ve been working at it for a couple of weeks now. Made a ton of cuts. Working on rewrites. I made a spreadsheet so I could chart out my novel. This will help me keep track of the chapters and scenes. Finished charting 1/3 of story today. Adding scenes here and there as needed.

I have my work cut out for me but it will be so worth it if I can share my story with people who like to read.

Leave a Reply

